Gyros from leftover koobideh or joojeh

As a kid, I generally didn’t like leftovers–and I think I know why. Not all leftovers are good eats. Though I have to admit, some might be even better (think spaghetti). I later learned how to bring back leftovers into new dishes, not just reheating and eating the same way–like my Thai basil fried rice. That really turned me around on leftovers. These gyros are yet another awesome leftover recipe.

We had a Persian cookout yesterday (on a lovely and not too hot July Sunday in McLean, Virginia) with my best friends. I prepared the meal ahead of time and Jamie (of Best Rosemary-Parmesan drop biscuit and Jamie’s Italian Chicken Vegetable Soup fame) and Darrin hosted a total of 8 of us. Since they had hosted, I shared the leftovers with them, but there is plenty for a couple of these suckers–and it’d be a shame to throw out good kebabs!

Before I get started on the recipe, I want to shout out some thanks to Teri at Recipes From My Kitchen for giving me the inspiration and confidence to publish leftover recipes. Also, her recipe site is awesome, unique, my personal favorite recipe blog and way better than mine! I recommend everyone checking hers out. http://recipesfrommykitchen.wordpress.com/

  • Left over koobideh or joojeh (click each for those recipes)
  • Flat bread of your choice. Pita works fine, but so does nan or even tortillas. Seriously, any “wrappable” bread will work. I used a tortilla for the one pictured here.
  • Fresh tomato, sliced
  • Leaf lettuce, romaine would be great. Even spinach might work as well. You may notice that I’ve used iceberg lettuce in the picture but that is NOT recommended. But I had leftover iceberg from the BLTs I made last week–and this IS a leftover recipe. And I’m just happy to not have to waste it.
  • Onion, sliced and optional
  • Tzatziki sauce, click for my recipe

I start by dry-pan heating of the flat bread. If you were making these from fresh kebobs, I’d recommend throwing them on your grill since it’s already going. Heat your kebob meat by the method of your choice–I went microwave today. To assemble, put a nice layer of tzatziki in the middle of your flat bread. Put some lettuce leaves down. The meat on top of that. Then tomatoes and onion. Finally top with some more tzatziki. Roll, fold, whatever will work with your particular flat bread and eat.

About Joe Graff

President and co-owner of DC based design studio, icon werx, inc. Lived in Thailand for 8+ years (2003-2011). Rheumatoid arthritis and triple joint replacement patient.
This entry was posted in Beef, Chicken, Greek, lamb, Main Dish, Middle-Eastern and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gyros from leftover koobideh or joojeh

  1. Joseph, these look wonderful. I’m a big fan of leftovers since I love to cook – just not every day! I like seeing how I can re-work things into new dishes and this looks like a great idea. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

