Spicy Meatloaf with Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze

  • 1.5-2 pounds lean ground beef
  • 3/4-1 pound fresh bratwurst, removed from the casing, or other fresh sausage.
  • 4-5 slices white or wheat bread, crusts removed and cubed
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 onion, grated
  • 2-3 jalapeno peppers, seeded and grated
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, grated
  • 1/4 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 heaping tablespoon parsley (I used dried, but I have a source of artisan dried herbs, a Mennonite market in south-central Pennsylvania. The dried herbs there are amazing as well as inexpensive. McCormick’s just doesn’t stand up. Unless you have really good dried stuff, I would recommend using fresh.)
  • 2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce or Asian oyster sauce
  • 1 tablespoon each of dijon mustard and ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon Sriracha sauce

Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze:

This glaze comes directly from Teri @ http://recipesfrommykitchen.wordpress.com with no alterations. I think the glaze really makes the meatloaf! Special thanks to her for posting her meatloaf recipe which I used as my base and also for letting me use the Mary Bee’s name. You should check her recipe blog sometime, it’s really great and very unique. Her meatloaf recipe can be found right here: http://recipesfrommykitchen.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/meatloaf-with-mary-bees-sweet-glaze/

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, loose not packed

Preheat your oven to 350. Soak the bread cubes in the milk for a few minutes. Add all the ingredients–including the excess milk, but excluding the ingredients for Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze–together and mix well. I let mine rest in the refrigerator for a couple hours but you could cook it right away. For the glaze, simply mix the ketchup and brown sugar and set aside. By the way, in spite of the tablespoons of red pepper & sriracha plus the jalapenos, this really isn’t that spicy. It’s along the lines of a mild salsa in heat. If you are concerned about the heat, reduce or remove the sriracha and/or red pepper flake.

Form into a loaf and place on a broiling pan (or if you are like me and do not have one, just use a baking pan). Bake for 1.5 hours or until done. During the last 45 minutes, baste the meatloaf with Mary Bee’s Glaze twice. Let the meatloaf rest for 5-10 minutes before slicing to serve. I added quartered white potatoes directly to my pan 30 minutes into the baking. They came out super yummy!

About Joe Graff

President and co-owner of DC based design studio, icon werx, inc. Lived in Thailand for 8+ years (2003-2011). Rheumatoid arthritis and triple joint replacement patient.
This entry was posted in American, Beef, Main Dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spicy Meatloaf with Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze

  1. Betty says:

    This looks really yummy–I can hardly wait to try it. And I love meatloaf leftovers for sandwiches with horseradish but this may not need the horseradish.

    • Joe Graff says:

      That’s what I just had for lunch. I went with ketchup. If I had horseradish I may have tried it, but I think you’re right, this recipe might not need it…

  2. That meatloaf sounds yummy, and soon it will be cool enough to have the oven on again!

    • Joe Graff says:

      It was hot hear yesterday, but I was just craving meatloaf. It does seem ridiculous to have the oven and air conditioner fighting each other, but sometimes…. 🙂

      • I could actually use my barbeque for meatloaf. Haven’t tried it yet, but think I might. I do know that sometimes you just have to give in to the cravings. I don’t have air conditioning so I need to know that it will be getting cold at night, which it usually does in Calgary.

  3. AsiaWandzel says:

    I will cook it this weekend for my family:)

  4. flyfishbrat says:

    Meatloaf is on my menu for next week. Thinking I will spice it up by using your recipe, I can’t wait. Thanks again for using Mary Bee’s glaze recipe…she would have thoroughly enjoyed it.

    • Joe Graff says:

      Thank Mary Bee (and yourself) for sharing it. It’s simple but just makes the meatloaf! The flavor changes so much with the baking, it’s almost shocking. I am wondering if I can’t just place a separate pan of just her sauce in with the meatloaf so I can get more sauce?

      • flyfishbrat says:

        Now there’s an idea Joe. I had never had meatloaf with a sweet glaze on it until coming out here to Indiana. That’s the only way she and others topped their meatloaf. I was used to ketchup only. It was a bit shocking on my first bite…but boy did I enjoy it. Mary has since past, but she would have enjoyed all this interest in her recipe. Very sweet.

Leave a Reply

