Mom’s Potato Salad

  • 8-10 small red potatoes (or another waxy potato like Yukon Gold–do not use russets, “baking potatoes”!)
  • 4-6 hard boiled eggs, mashed (Mom says 6, I usually use 4)
  • 1 stalk of celery, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, finely chopped. Make sure it’s a sweet tasting carrot or use less
  • 1/2 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons (or so) each of sweet pickle and dill pickle, finely chopped. Could use sweet relish for the sweet pickle
  • 1 teaspoon each of sweet pickle and dill pickle juice
  • 1 cup prepared mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon prepared mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper
  • Salt, start with a teaspoon

Boil the potatoes whole in salted water until just fork tender. Don’t over cook them or they will get mushy. Cool and remove skins. Chop cook potato into the size you want the chunks to be for your salad–see picture for the size Mom does hers.

In a different bowl, mash the eggs and add all the ingredients (except the potatoes) and mix thoroughly. Taste. It should be tangy and a little bit salty. If not tangy enough, add more pickle juice. Adjust salt as well. Next, gently fold the potatoes into the egg/dressing mixture. Refrigerate at least three hours before serving–over night is even better.

About Joe Graff

President and co-owner of DC based design studio, icon werx, inc. Lived in Thailand for 8+ years (2003-2011). Rheumatoid arthritis and triple joint replacement patient.
This entry was posted in American, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mom’s Potato Salad

  1. Looks like good old fashioned potato salad – something you crave once in awhile. Tell your mom I’ll give it a try.

  2. flyfishbrat says:

    I love it! Your are so spot on with this blog. Makes me want to hang out in the kitchen with my Grandmother all day.

    • Joe Graff says:

      I wish I could hang out with my Grandmother in the kitchen, but she’s been gone for 20+ years now. What’s funny, is that Grandma didn’t like to cook. She was from Pittsburgh–a city girl–that married what I would call a “Pennsylvania Dutch” farmer in Breezewood, PA. I guess her mother-in-law taught her some stuff, because she was awesome. But my Mom is the one who really picked up on the cooking–and is the better cook. Her grandmother taught her that Ham Pot Pie recipe and others I hope to be sharing. Her PA Dutch Style Cheesecake will be coming soon. An easy one that is so delicious with no need for a bain-marie.

      I am still in awe of your recipe for bacon and eggs done for your niece. That’s what it’s all about though isn’t it? Help the younger generation make the stuff we grew up with. That was just awesome to me. 🙂

      • flyfishbrat says:

        Thanks Joe. My Grandmother also is no longer with us, but I was fortunate enough to have spent many hours in the kitchen with her. Shoot, I would have had no idea about cooking a Thanksgiving dinner without her. My son was lucky, well I guess you could say it that way, because I was a single mother so he had to help me out in the household. He learned a lot of skills children don’t usually learn at a young age. One being the joy and of cooking and he cooks still today. So when my niece called from the grocery store asking for help with 2 recipes she was making for her boyfriend, needless to say how delighted I was to help. Then upon hearing she wouldn’t fry bacon because she was scared to….well I couldn’t let that remain. Just wish both my niece and son lived closer so we could cook together more often. But is nice to remember you have to pass the knowledge down, like it was passed to us.

  3. Pingback: Classic Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato Sandwich (BLT) | Joe Graff's Recipe Blog

Leave a Reply

