Easy Homemade Breakfast Sausage & Sausage Gravy

BSausage_Frying

I don’t like most of the commercially available breakfast sausages all that much. I often find them a bit too salty and a bit too sagey. I remember how much I loved my uncles breakfast sausage after he would butcher a hog in the fall. I wondered if I couldn’t come up with something. I’ve made Italian sausage and Mexican chroizo before, I had sage in my pantry, why not? I started with several other peoples recipes–most notably Alton Brown. Some recipes added other herbs (rosemary, parsley and marjoram), some didn’t have added sugar, some used fresh herbs–I used dry. I then modified and tweaked my recipe until I found a formula I liked best. Not too salty. Not too sagey. No need for special equipment. Really simple and easy to make.

  • 1 pound of ground pork
  • ½ to 1 teaspoon sage (I go ¾)
  • ½ teaspoon thyme (I probably use a little less than a full ½ teaspoon)
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • ¼ to 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I use a whole teaspoon)
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper
  • 1¼ teaspoon salt

BSausage_MEP

I put all the ingredients except the pork into a bowl and mix them together well. Then I add the pork and try to incorporate the seasonings without mixing it top much. I just of just keep breaking apart the ground meat until all the seasonings are mixed in. Then you need to let it sit in the refrigerator for a couple hours (or overnight) for the flavorings to be drawn into the meat. Then make patties or use it loose to make sausage gravy.

Super Easy Sausage Gravy

CountryGravy2I know how to make proper, homemade sausage gravy. It’s not difficult. It does take some time with having to create a roux. If I am cooking for a lot of people, I just go ahead and make the regular milk gravy. But I love legitimate kitchen shortcuts and this is a good one. One day I happened to notice at the grocery store that the packet country gravy uses water and not milk. I bought a couple packets to try for those times I don’t have any milk and want sausage gravy.

I started out by browning off about a half a pound of sausage. After removing the meat (leaving the fat and browned bits), dump 2 cups of water into the pan followed whisking in the gravy powder until smooth. Bring back to a boil and cook for one minute. Stir the browned sausage back into the gravy and you’re done.

BSausage_Gravy

Even though biscuits are traditional, I often eat this gravy over toast. My favorite is to fry up a couple of patties for the side and a couple of eggs to go right on top of the biscuits (or toast) and gravy.

BSausage_Gravy_Eggs

About Joe Graff

President and co-owner of DC based design studio, icon werx, inc. Lived in Thailand for 8+ years (2003-2011). Rheumatoid arthritis and triple joint replacement patient.
This entry was posted in American, Breakfast, Pork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

